Three former Fingal Councillors appointed as ministers in new cabinet

Fingal County Council welcomes the news that three former councillors of Fingal County Council will serve as ministers in the new government as announced by An Taoiseach Micheál Martin last evening.

An Taoiseach Martin revealed his new Cabinet after his election as Taoiseach in the Dublin Convention Centre and his appointment by President Michael D. Higgins.

The three ministers from Fingal are former Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, Dublin West TD,

Leo Varadkar

Darragh O’Brien, Dublin Fingal TD, and Roderic O’Gorman, Dublin West TD.

Leo Varadkar was appointed Tanaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment. Mr. Varadkar served on Fingal County Council from 2003 to 2007 while serving as Vice Cathaoirleach after the 2004 local elections.

Darragh O’Brien

Darragh O’Brien, who was a councillor on Fingal County Council from 2004 to 2007 and was appointed Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage.

Roderic O’Gorman, who served as a councillor on Fingal County Council since 2014 until he was elected to the Dáil in the 2020 general election, was appointed Minister for Children, Disabilities, Equality and Integration.

Roderic O’Gorman

An Taoiseach Martin has also named his 11 appointments to An Seanad which also sees two of those being from Fingal with current sitting councillor Emer Currie and former senator Lorraine Clifford-Lee among those named.

Mayor of Fingal, Cllr. David Healy said about the appointments: “It is great to see three former Fingal councillors appointed to the new cabinet. It reflects Fingal’s record for policy making and getting things done. I would also like to congratulate our colleague Cllr. Emer Currie on her imminent appointment to the Seanad. I wish them all the best in their new roles.”

Emer Currie

AnnMarie Farrelly, Chief Executive of Fingal County Council, said: “I congratulate the ministers from Fingal on their appointment and I look forward to working with them and their Departments in the coming years. I would also like to congratulate the two Seanad appointees that are from Fingal, Emer Currie and Lorraine Clifford Lee.”

Lorraine Clifford Lee

Balbriggan News
Co Dublin
Contact 0830022220 
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Balbriggan News

  • Balbriggan Info

  • Balbriggan RIP

  • Our Balbriggan

  • Balbriggan Business

  • Balbriggan Photos

©2020 Website & Digital Management by Digital Pitch
Website Logo.PNG